Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Air conditioning problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default Air conditioning problems

    I bought a 1996 corvette a little over a year ago and have done a complete rebuild. I'm down to my last problem the AC. I have a new compressor and have cleaned the climate control. My problem is when I start the car I have power to the compressor for about 10 minutes and then the compressor shuts off. I'm still have air blowing thru the vents but no power at the compressor. It also us. New low pressure switch, evaporator, dryer, and orfice tube. It has a full charge.
    Thanks
    Scott

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    817

    Default

    c4c5 will help you, this is what he lives for.

    2013 Zo6

    2004 Z06/Z16 Stock motor, very modified suspension

    1996 Black/gray LT4 Coupe (sold)

    2007 328i (traded), 2004 IS300, 1995 M3 (sold), Chevy & Ford & Lexus SUV's.

    '06,'09,'10,'11,'12,'13,'16,'17 SCCA Regional Solo Champion

    Visit my DIY video channel for tips. Click below.

    http://www.youtube.com/user/1947froggy?feature=guide

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Hobart Indiana, 30 minutes from downtown Chicago
    Posts
    168

    Default

    I had the same problem, and most of the AC, and cooling fan system is controlled by the ECU. They have no more ECUs, so you have a choice of a salvage yard, or waiting for the dealer to have yours rebuilt. Does your compressor work, if you jumper out the low pressure switch? I may be wrong, but a salvage yard ECU solved all my problems.....Paul(c4c5) knows everything about this. I am just telling you my experience.
    30 year VW master tech, 25 year Audi master tech, 15 year Porsche registered tech, 25 year ASE master

    93 Corvette 40th coupe 6 spd LT1, 83 Porsche 928 S2 5spd sunroof(rare), 02 Jeep Liberty lifted locked & lit up, 14 Jeep Cherokee Latitude

  4. #4

    Default

    HI there,

    What do you mean by clean the climate control???

    Are you talking about the programmer located at the firewall ????

    Allthebest, Paul
    GM World Class Certified Service Technician.
    Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/corvettemechanic
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/GMvettemechanic

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 928stech View Post
    I had the same problem, and most of the AC, and cooling fan system is controlled by the ECU. They have no more ECUs, so you have a choice of a salvage yard, or waiting for the dealer to have yours rebuilt. Does your compressor work, if you jumper out the low pressure switch? I may be wrong, but a salvage yard ECU solved all my problems.....Paul(c4c5) knows everything about this. I am just telling you my experience.
    i already have a new ECU and had the Body Control module refurbshed ladt month

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Paul.
    Actually the climate control head in the dash. I had problems with the doors blowing the air cleaned the contacts and now the air blows were it is supposed to. I just read about the unit on the firewal behind the gas pedal area. does that have some kind of eletronics that goes thru that?

    Thanks
    Scott

  7. #7

    Default

    HI there,

    Yes there is, however , i need to understand more of the exact problem your experiencing.

    If it is blowing the air in the correct location, then is it just that you are not getting cold air ???/

    Allthebest, Paul
    GM World Class Certified Service Technician.
    Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/corvettemechanic
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/GMvettemechanic

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c4c5specialist View Post
    HI there,

    Yes there is, however , i need to understand more of the exact problem your experiencing.

    If it is blowing the air in the correct location, then is it just that you are not getting cold air ???/

    Allthebest, Paul
    Paul
    It is blowing in the correct location when I first start the car with the AC on I have cold air. After about 10 minutes the compressor shuts of and there is no power at the compressor. Air is still blowing but hot. Will not engage when bypassing the high pressure switch. The compressor will not turn on again until the car is shut off for a couple hours.
    Scott

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Paul just want to check in and see if you have any ideas

  10. #10

    Default

    HI there,

    This is ECM controlled so there must be something the ECM is seeing to inhibit the AC compressor function.

    Please tell me why the AC compressor was replaced ????

    Was it a catastrophic failure???

    Allthebest, Paul
    GM World Class Certified Service Technician.
    Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/corvettemechanic
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/GMvettemechanic

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Hood Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    No it started leaking so I replaced it. I bought it with the compressor bypassed. I have a new ECM in it an I had the BCM rebuilt. Before I cleaned the control head the blend doors wouldn't work. The pressure is good on both sides. No catastrophic failure.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'm assuming you have the "Automatic" Climate Control system ....

    It uses three inputs from sensors to decide how much A/C to deliver ...

    1) Outside Air Temp sensor ... does the display show an outside temp that seems reasonable ??

    2) Inside Air Temp - the sensor is near where you insert the ignition key (small grill to right of key)

    3) Sun load (Infrared) sensor ... looks like a small "dome" near your windshield inside the car (part of the defrost grill in the center of the dashboard).

    Any of these sensors failing can affect the A/C.

    In addition, there are cases where the PCM may request the air conditioner compressor OFF, such as high coolant temperatures, or the BCM senses low "freon" pressures.

    I'd start by dumping the codes to see if there is a DTC that points you to the problem.

    Good luck,

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Good stuff randy but the last post b4 you was 6/14. Not sure this is still alive.

    2013 Zo6

    2004 Z06/Z16 Stock motor, very modified suspension

    1996 Black/gray LT4 Coupe (sold)

    2007 328i (traded), 2004 IS300, 1995 M3 (sold), Chevy & Ford & Lexus SUV's.

    '06,'09,'10,'11,'12,'13,'16,'17 SCCA Regional Solo Champion

    Visit my DIY video channel for tips. Click below.

    http://www.youtube.com/user/1947froggy?feature=guide

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    7

    Default

    What does inside air temp sensor "open" mean?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •